Sassy Floor Vase – Camouflaging Cracks & Chips

Posted on November 30, 2009. Filed under: Decorating with Beads, DIY, Home Decor, Refurbished Goods, Vases | Tags: , , , , , |


 

Crack-ups

Crack-ups

 

My floor vase has been knocked over twice, hence the terrible-looking glue job in the photo. It’s brim and “neck” look ragged and tattered – what an eyesore. I can’t paint over it. And I can’t find the missing pieces to somehow glue them back into the open crevices. I would probably end up gluing my fingers together anyway :)

 

Now, I openly deny being a “rat pack.” I just think that it is better to sass a functional item than to trash it. Refurbishing goods allows one’s creativity to flow and sets the mind at ease. It also gives you a sense of accomplishment and joy.

 

A Bunch O' Beads

A Bunch O' Beads

 

With tons of leftover beads and swirly straw, I settled on making a necklace for the vase’s “forelock” and using the straw to slightly draw attention away from the chipped brim.

 

It’s not perfect, but it’ll do for now.

Sassy Floor Vase

Sassy Floor Vase

 

 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Sassy Floor Vase – Camouflaging Cracks & Chips”

RSS Feed for Sass a Craft – Muslim Women are Smart & Crafty Too! Comments RSS Feed

neat! :)

Asalamu Alaikum

Wow! Masha’Allah.

Wa ‘alaikumus salaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh. This project was fun, Tabaarakallaah. I made a few other necklaces for my vases, not to cover any defects, but to add life to them as they were a bit boring.

Baarakallaahu feekumaa!

Wa feeki barakAllah. The picture was too small…

can you make it bigger?

Sorry about that. Here you go.

I later stuffed these vases full of flowers. My daughter decided that she wanted to go around stuffing any and everything in them as well (rocks, hair rollers, you name it). My project went from sassy to “baby blooper” overnight. I’ll post some pictures later.

Lol…please do insha’Allah


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

